Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
2

When tree planting tried to bury the stories.

interlude between Autumn and Winter
2

First, apologies as people have been writing to me asking “where’s your new content? Has it stopped?”

I did have 4 weeks of illness that paused me but before illness and when I recovered I was passionately following a project here in Co. Leitrim, ‘AMACH - to the field’ with 21 doors placed by farmers in fields, sometime woodland. Each door had a phone number to call to listen to stories related to the field that can be seen from where the door is placed.

So here is a ‘filler’ until I resume both the ‘Ogham Prompts’ Modules series and the ‘Winter Mischief & Magic’ series that I still aim to complete by Imbolc early February.

The stories, from the doors phone numbers were of the people, the village, the community that used to live near the farm. Stories of their deeds and way of life. Stories of how they used their land before it was narrowed down to cattle, sheep, and hay like the land is today. There were lovely landscape stories, mythology stories, folklore stories, and celebrations practiced.

Sometimes I, or we, were also invited by the farmer to stay for a cup of tea and a bit of ceili to hear more stories direct from them.

I learned a lot from the stories, and the ‘vibe’ of the project. ‘Vibe’ being what was connecting it all together.

Most of these stories would not be found in ‘scholarly’ archives. Many ‘scholars’ may say the stories told in this way mess up the continuation and protection of ‘authentic’ ancient scribed versions. ‘Sacred Texts’ some people may say.

Yes, a lot of their source could perhaps be traced no further back than mid 19th century, or even younger such as during the 50s or even 70s, yest still passed through a few generations until today.

To avoid warbling into other subjects, the one profound story, and the heart of what this ‘AMATH - to the field’ project was set up is how complete communities and most of their stories have been cleared away by corporate funded tree plantations.

Often the way, corporate expression, that ways of our ‘civilisation’ dissolving the community, and all of it’s intimate and unique connections. Conversations replaced by spreadsheets and digital algorithms.

The people were not physically removed by force. It was like the old colonial ‘King’s Shilling’. The thought of an immediate reward without thought of what is really being sacrificed. Some of the people leaving their land to tree plantation companies were probably ‘gifted’ lump some amounts … but at what price?

This video is the 21st recording I made of my adventures around the ‘AMACH, to the field’ doors. This is also my longest video review as I though the location and stories were very precious.

I trust you will enjoy this video, until I return posting my other series.

You can also follow my increasing playlist of my reviews on my Nature Folklore YouTube channel.

As I write now, only 9 of the 21 reviews are there at present, but I will work to get all 21 reviews posted there.

Alternatively, if you would like me to post and share my 21 reviews here on Substack, so you avoid the YouTube adverts, please message me, and with enough response I will do that. My concern is not wanting to overload you with email notifications.

I will leave you to enjoy my longest review video here. Please forgive the distortions as was windy up there that broke up some audio.

2 Comments
Nature Folklore
Nature Folklore
Authors
John Willmott